Return rate or redistribution rate


Machineàsou Different games often advertise a return rate that seems very high: 98% for example, or 75%, or 50%. Many people think this means you have a 50, 70 or 98% chance of winning. Not at all!

A return rate of 86% means that, out of all the bets made by players, the company organizing the game deducts 14% for its own profit and therefore only redistributes 86% of the sum, divided between all the winners.
In other words, in the long term, you're guaranteed to lose 14% of all your bets.

Let's take the example of a game that advertises a 95% return rate. The stake is 1 euro and the duration is such that you can play 5 times a minute, i.e. 300 times an hour. The 95% return rate means that every time a player spends 1 euro, the organizing company takes 5% of this sum, or 5 cents. At the end of an hour, on average, given that there are 300 games per hour, players lose 5 centimes x 300 = 15 euros. It's mathematical.
Of course, there are times when you win, sometimes even big sums. But if you play a lot, over the long term, and add up all your wins and losses, you're guaranteed to lose an average of 15 euros per hour played.

This is known as negative earnings expectancy: lose money.

Gaming suppliers have more than one trick up their sleeves to attract players. For example, studies carried out in Quebec (Sévigny et al. 2005) on a large number of online gambling sites show that return rates in excess of 100% are not uncommon in the demo phase of games to convince players to continue.

updated on 4/28/24

Share this page

Taux de retour ou taux de redistribution


Machineàsou Les différents jeux annoncent souvent un taux de retour qui semble très élevé : 98% par exemple, ou 75%, ou 50%. Beaucoup de personnes pensent que cela signifie que vous avez 50, 70 ou 98% de chances de gagner. Pas du tout !

Un taux de retour de 86% signifie que sur l'ensemble des mises des joueurs, la société organisatrice du jeu prélève 14% pour son bénéfice propre et ne redistribue donc que 86% de la somme, réparti entre tous les gagnants.
Autrement dit, à long terme, vous êtes assuré de perdre 14% de la totalité de vos mises.

Prenons l'exemple d'un jeu qui annonce un taux de retour de 95%. La mise est de 1 euro et la durée est telle qu'on peut jouer 5 fois par minute, soit 300 fois par heure. Le taux de retour de 95% signifie que chaque fois qu'un joueur dépense 1 euro, la société organisatrice prélève 5% de cette somme, soit 5 centimes. Au bout d'une heure, en moyenne, étant donné qu'il y a 300 parties par heure, les joueurs perdent 5 centimes x 300 = 15 euros. C'est mathématique.
Bien sûr, il peut arriver qu'on gagne, parfois même de grosses sommes. Mais si on joue beaucoup, sur le long terme, en additionnant toutes les pertes et tous les gains, on est assuré de perdre en moyenne 15 euros par heure de jeu.

On parle d'espérance de gain négative : on perd de l'argent.

Les fournisseurs de jeux ont plus d'un tour dans leur sac pour attirer les joueurs. Ainsi par exemple, des études menées au Québec (Sévigny et al. 2005) sur un grand nombre de jeux de hasard et d'argent en ligne montrent que des taux de retour supérieurs à 100% ne sont pas rares dans la phase de démo des jeux afin de convaincre les joueurs de continuer.

Share this page