The Internet as a source of information


With the Internet, you can find virtually any information you need by surfing or chatting with specialists or enthusiasts on the subject. The Internet isn't just a database of scientific information - far from it! You can find the best as well as the worst. So you need to be able to sort through the information, check its accuracy and relevance, and synthesize it - which can be very difficult, given the sheer volume of information available to everyone!
What's more, contrary to popular belief, copying something from the Internet is not authorized : any text, image or graphic, wherever it may be, is automatically protected by copyright, even if there is no warning.
Using part of someone else's work for a report or dissertation you have to hand in is plagiarism and the academic penalty is often severe...
Yet it's fabulous to discover loads of information from all over the world. It's all the more exhilarating because, from link to link, you can constantly push back the frontiers... But we often end up getting carried away and no longer see the time passing. Even if our initial objectives were clear, we sometimes lose sight of them and become distracted by the many demands made on us. And it's often hard to resist the urge to visit pages that have nothing to do with our initial research.

ordi1

updated on 4/28/24

Share this page

Internet comme source documentaire


Avec Internet, on peut trouver quasiment toutes les informations dont on a besoin en surfant ou en dialoguant avec des spécialistes ou des amateurs du sujet. Internet n'est pas qu'une base d'informations scientifiques, loin s'en faut ! On y trouve le meilleur comme le pire. Il faut donc pouvoir faire le tri des informations, en contrôler l'exactitude et la pertinence et en effectuer la synthèse, ce qui peut s'avérer bien difficile vu la masse d'éléments mis à la disposition de tous !
De plus, contrairement à ce qu'on pense parfois, recopier quelque chose d'Internet n'est pas autorisé : tout texte, toute image, tout graphique, où qu'il soit, est automatiquement protégé par le droit d'auteur, même s'il n'y a aucune mention d'avertissement.
L'utilisation d'une partie du travail d'un autre pour un rapport ou un mémoire que vous devez rendre est un plagiat et la sanction académique est souvent sévère…
Pourtant, il est fabuleux de découvrir des tas d'informations provenant du monde entier. Notre ouverture d'esprit s'en trouve élargie ; c'est d'autant plus grisant que de lien en lien, on peut reculer sans cesse les frontières… Mais on finit souvent par se laisser emporter et ne plus voir le temps passer. Même si nos objectifs de départ étaient clairs, les sollicitations multiples nous les font parfois perdre de vue et nous en éloignent. Et il est souvent bien difficile de résister à l'envie d'aller visiter des pages qui n'ont aucun rapport avec l'objet de notre recherche initiale.

ordi1

Share this page