Hypnotics or sleeping pills are psychotropic drugs that act specifically on brain activity, whether they are synthetic substances or plants such as valerian or lemon balm. 

Benzodiazepines

The most common hypnotics are benzodiazepines, also prescribed as anxiolytics. The drawback is that they disrupt the architecture of deep slow-wave sleep, reducing REM sleep and their sedative effect persists throughout the day. At normal doses, concentration and memory may be affected (memory lapses) a few hours after ingestion. Other side effects may include confusional states, anxiety attacks and balance disorders.


After 2 weeks of use, becomes addictive, and physical and/or psychological dependence sets in after 2 to 4 weeks.

Other types of sleeping pills

There areother synthetic molecules, less widely used, which are much less disruptive of sleep architecture. Their chemical composition is different from "benzo", but the mechanism of action remains the same. These drugs also have undesirable side effects, including psychiatric disorders of varying severity. In addition, drug interactions are more difficult to manage.

The plants

 

As well as synthetic molecules, there are herbal medicines which use extracts of valerian, lime blossom, passionflower or lemon balm, and are just as effective as normal doses of "benzo", with virtually no side-effects. These plants are often combined with hawthorn (crataegus), which has an effect on heart palpitations. You'll either find them in speciality medicines, or your doctor can prescribe them in magistral preparations (preparations made by pharmacists in their pharmacies). Apart from a possible slight drowsiness in the morning, these drugs have no adverse effects.

However, it is important to distinguish herbal medicines from other products legally known as "dietary supplements", whose concentrations of natural active ingredient(s) are often very much under-dosed and whose controls to ensure product quality are infinitely less strict.
sable

Sleep without medication?

Don't forget that falling asleep takes preparation. A few simple changes in your behavior can solve your sleep difficulties.

updated on 4/25/24

Share this page

Les hypnotiques ou somnifères font partie des psychotropes c'est-à-dire des médicaments dont l'action se fait spécifiquement sur l'activité cérébrale, qu’il s’agisse de substances synthétiques ou de plantes comme la valériane ou la mélisse.

Les benzodiazépines

Les médicaments hypnotiques les plus fréquents sont les benzodiazépines qu’on prescrit aussi comme anxiolytiques. L’inconvénient, c’est qu’ils entraînent une perturbation de l'architecture du sommeil lent profond, une diminution du sommeil paradoxal et une persistance de leur effet sédatif pendant la journée. A dose normale, la concentration et la mémoire peuvent être affectées (trous de mémoire) quelques heures après l'ingestion du médicament. On assiste parfois à d'autres effets indésirables tels que des états confusionnels, des crises d’angoisse et des troubles de l'équilibre.

Au bout de 2 semaines d’utilisation, une accoutumance se fait sentir et la dépendance physique et/ou psychologique s’installe dès 2 à 4 semaines.

Autres types de somnifères

Il existe d’autres molécules synthétiques, moins utilisées, qui cassent beaucoup moins l’architecture du sommeil. La composition chimique est différente des «benzo» mais le mécanisme d’action reste le même. Ces médicaments amènent, eux aussi, des effets indésirables pouvant aller jusqu’à des troubles psychiatriques plus ou moins graves. A quoi s’ajoutent des problèmes d’interactions médicamenteuses plus difficiles à gérer.

Les plantes

 

A côté des molécules synthétiques, il existe des médicaments à base de plantes qui utilisent des extraits de valériane, de tilleul, de passiflore ou de mélisse et sont tout aussi efficaces que des doses normales de «benzo» , quasiment sans inconvénient. Ces plantes sont souvent associées à l’aubépine (crataegus) qui a un effet sur les palpitations cardiaques. Soit vous les trouverez en spécialités médicamenteuses, soit votre médecin pourra vous les prescrire en préparation magistrale (préparations que le pharmacien réalise à son officine). A part une possible légère somnolence le matin, ces médicaments n’ont pas d’effets indésirables.

Toutefois, il est important de distinguer les médicaments à base de plantes des autres produits appelés légalement «compléments alimentaires» dont les concentrations en principe(s) actif(s) naturel(s) sont souvent très nettement sous-dosées et dont les contrôles assurant la qualité du produit sont infiniment moins stricts.
sable

Dormir sans médicament ?

N’oubliez pas que l’endormissement, ça se prépare. Quelques modifications simples de vos comportements peuvent résoudre vos difficultés d’endormissement.

Share this page